🐾 Pet Insurance Finder

Spot pet insurance in Canada

2 plans. Facts checked against Spot's own policy documents and website (reviewed 2026-05-19). We're independent and earn no commission.

A good fit if

  • ✓ you want exam fees covered

Look elsewhere if

  • ✕ dental disease coverage matters to you
  • ✕ you live where it isn't sold

Spot

Accident Plan (Level 1)

Accident-only coverage with a generous reported $20,000 annual limit.

$ BudgetAccident only
Reimburses
80%
Annual limit
$20,000
Deductible
Annual
Exam fees
Covered
Accident wait
1 day
Illness wait
none
Deductible
Annual deductible, age-banded.
Annual limit
Reported around $20,000 per year for accident claims.
Dental
No dental coverage on the accident-only plan.
Alternative therapy
Alternative therapy is covered on the accident & illness levels, not Level 1.
Wellness
An optional Preventative Care add-on is available; routine care is otherwise not covered.
Waiting periods
Accidents 1 day, illness none.
Eligibility
New policies: dogs up to 10, cats up to 12. Minimum age 8 weeks. Not sold in Quebec.
Multi-pet discount
5% for 2 pets, 10% for 3+
Underwriter
Northbridge General Insurance Corporation (admin: PTZ Insurance Services)

Good to know

  • •An accident-only plan with a high reported limit
  • •Vet exam fees covered
  • •Optional preventive-care add-on
  • •Multi-pet discounts

Watch out for

  • !Illness and chronic conditions are NOT covered
  • !Not available in Quebec
  • !New policies: dogs under 10, cats under 12 only
  • !Level 1 details (limit, deductible, reimbursement) are from secondary sources — confirm on a quote
Get a quote from Spot →
Sources

Spot

Accident & Illness (Levels 2–4)

Accident & illness coverage (Spot Levels 2–4) with age-based reimbursement up to 90%.

$$ Mid-rangeAccident & illness
Reimburses
70/75/80/85/90%
Annual limit
$10,000
Deductible
Annual
Exam fees
Covered
Accident wait
1 day
Illness wait
14 days

Sample monthly cost

$88.15 — 1–3 year-old LabradorThird-party estimate (HelloSafe); province not specified.

$43–$59 — 1-year-old catThird-party estimate (HelloSafe); province not specified.

Deductible
Annual deductible, age-banded: $100 (under 2) up to $300 (over 10).
Annual limit
Selectable annual limits (commonly cited around $5,000–$10,000); confirm the exact options on a quote.
Dental
Routine dental disease is excluded; only a tooth damaged by a covered accident is eligible. Cleanings via the add-on.
Alternative therapy
Alternative and behavioural therapy covered up to $1,000/year combined.
Wellness
Optional Preventative Care add-on covers routine exams, vaccines and dental cleanings.
Waiting periods
Accidents 1 day, illness 14 days. Cruciate, patellar luxation and hip dysplasia are treated as illness (14-day wait, no special orthopedic delay).
Eligibility
New policies: dogs up to 10, cats up to 12. Minimum age 8 weeks. Not sold in Quebec.
Multi-pet discount
5% for 2 pets, 10% for 3+
Underwriter
Northbridge General Insurance Corporation (admin: PTZ Insurance Services)

Good to know

  • •Reimbursement is age-based, from 90% (under 2) down to 70% (over 10)
  • •No special orthopedic waiting period — cruciate covered as illness
  • •Vet exam fees and alternative therapies covered
  • •Multi-pet discounts (5% / 10%)

Watch out for

  • !Not available in Quebec
  • !New policies: dogs under 10, cats under 12 only
  • !Routine dental disease excluded — only accidental tooth damage covered
  • !Reimbursement % is set by your pet's age and decreases as it gets older
Get a quote from Spot →
Sources

Spot: common questions

Does Spot cover vet exam fees?

Yes. Exam fees for covered conditions are reimbursed.

How much does Spot reimburse?

70%, 75%, 80%, 85%, 90% of eligible costs after the deductible. Annual deductible, age-banded: $100 (under 2) up to $300 (over 10).

Is there an annual limit with Spot?

Selectable annual limits (commonly cited around $5,000–$10,000); confirm the exact options on a quote.

Does Spot cover dental?

Routine dental disease is excluded; only a tooth damaged by a covered accident is eligible. Cleanings via the add-on.

What are Spot's waiting periods?

Accidents: 1 day; illness: 14 days. Cruciate, patellar luxation and hip dysplasia are treated as illness (14-day wait, no special orthopedic delay).

Is Spot right for your pet?

Answer a few questions and see how Spot scores against every other Canadian insurer for your pet.

Take the 2-minute quiz →

Compare Spot

Other Canadian insurers

Trupanion · Pets Plus Us · Petsecure · Sonnet · OVMA Pet Insurance · Furkin · PHI Direct · Fetch · Desjardins