🐾 Pet Insurance Finder

OVMA Pet Insurance pet insurance in Canada

3 plans. Facts checked against OVMA Pet Insurance's own policy documents and website (reviewed 2026-05-19). We're independent and earn no commission.

A good fit if

  • βœ“ you want exam fees covered
  • βœ“ you want dental disease covered, not just accidents
  • βœ“ you're insuring an older pet

Look elsewhere if

  • βœ• you want more than a $2,500 annual limit

OVMA Pet Insurance

Comprehensive

Entry OVMA accident & illness plan with $2,500 per-condition coverage.

$$ Mid-rangeAccident & illness
Reimburses
80%
Annual limit
$2,500
Deductible
Annual
Exam fees
Covered
Accident wait
2 days
Illness wait
14 days

Sample monthly cost

~$81 β€” 1–7 year-old LabradorThird-party estimate (HelloSafe), low end of the OVMA range; province not specified.

Deductible
Annual deductible, age-banded, with two options (A or B).
Annual limit
$2,500 per condition per year (and per accident).
Dental
Dental covered up to $300/year; 6-month dental waiting period.
Alternative therapy
Physiotherapy, hydrotherapy, acupuncture, chiropractic, behavioural therapy and devices β€” up to $350 per category per year.
Wellness
Routine wellness care is only on the Unlimited+ plan.
Waiting periods
Accidents 2 days, illness 14 days, orthopedic/cruciate 6 mo. 6-month waiting period on dental, cruciate ligament and IVDD conditions.
Eligibility
No maximum enrollment age. Sold in every province.
Multi-pet discount
10% for 3+ pets, 15% for 6+; plus a 3–5% loyalty discount
Underwriter
Petline Insurance Company

Good to know

  • β€’Backed by the Ontario Veterinary Medical Association
  • β€’Vet exam fees covered
  • β€’Alternative & behavioural therapy included
  • β€’Available across Canada; no maximum enrollment age

Watch out for

  • !$2,500 per-condition annual limit
  • !80% reimbursement (no 90% option)
  • !Reimbursement rate can be reduced (toward 50%) based on claims history
  • !6-month wait for dental, cruciate and disc conditions
Get a quote from OVMA Pet Insurance β†’
Sources

OVMA Pet Insurance

Extended

Mid OVMA tier with $5,000 per-condition coverage.

$$ Mid-rangeAccident & illness
Reimburses
80%
Annual limit
$5,000
Deductible
Annual
Exam fees
Covered
Accident wait
2 days
Illness wait
14 days
Deductible
Annual deductible, age-banded, with two options (A or B).
Annual limit
$5,000 per condition per year (and per accident).
Dental
Dental covered up to $400/year; 6-month dental waiting period.
Alternative therapy
Physiotherapy, hydrotherapy, acupuncture, chiropractic, behavioural therapy and devices β€” up to $350 per category per year.
Wellness
Routine wellness care is only on the Unlimited+ plan.
Waiting periods
Accidents 2 days, illness 14 days, orthopedic/cruciate 6 mo. 6-month waiting period on dental, cruciate ligament and IVDD conditions.
Eligibility
No maximum enrollment age. Sold in every province.
Multi-pet discount
10% for 3+ pets, 15% for 6+; plus a 3–5% loyalty discount
Underwriter
Petline Insurance Company

Good to know

  • β€’Higher $5,000 per-condition limit
  • β€’Vet exam fees covered
  • β€’Alternative & behavioural therapy included
  • β€’Available across Canada; no maximum enrollment age

Watch out for

  • !80% reimbursement (no 90% option)
  • !Reimbursement rate can be reduced (toward 50%) based on claims history
  • !6-month wait for dental, cruciate and disc conditions
Get a quote from OVMA Pet Insurance β†’
Sources

OVMA Pet Insurance

Unlimited+

Top OVMA tier β€” unlimited per-condition coverage plus preventive care.

$$$ PremiumAccident & illness
Reimburses
80%
Annual limit
Unlimited
Deductible
Annual
Exam fees
Covered
Accident wait
2 days
Illness wait
14 days

Sample monthly cost

~$232 β€” 1–7 year-old LabradorThird-party estimate (HelloSafe), top of the OVMA range; province not specified.

Deductible
Annual deductible, age-banded, with two options (A or B).
Annual limit
Unlimited per condition per year.
Dental
Dental covered up to $600/year; 6-month dental waiting period.
Alternative therapy
Physiotherapy, hydrotherapy, acupuncture, chiropractic, behavioural therapy and devices β€” up to $350 per category per year.
Wellness
Includes preventive care ($450/yr for dogs, $350/yr for cats) with no waiting period.
Waiting periods
Accidents 2 days, illness 14 days, orthopedic/cruciate 6 mo. 6-month waiting period on dental, cruciate ligament and IVDD conditions.
Eligibility
No maximum enrollment age. Sold in every province.
Multi-pet discount
10% for 3+ pets, 15% for 6+; plus a 3–5% loyalty discount
Underwriter
Petline Insurance Company

Good to know

  • β€’Unlimited per-condition payouts
  • β€’Preventive/wellness care included
  • β€’Highest dental sub-limit of the OVMA tiers
  • β€’Vet exam fees covered; no maximum enrollment age

Watch out for

  • !Premium pricing β€” the most expensive OVMA tier
  • !80% reimbursement (no 90% option)
  • !Reimbursement rate can be reduced (toward 50%) based on claims history
  • !6-month wait for dental, cruciate and disc conditions
Get a quote from OVMA Pet Insurance β†’
Sources

OVMA Pet Insurance: common questions

Does OVMA Pet Insurance cover vet exam fees?

Yes. Exam fees for covered conditions are reimbursed.

How much does OVMA Pet Insurance reimburse?

80% of eligible costs after the deductible. Annual deductible, age-banded, with two options (A or B).

Is there an annual limit with OVMA Pet Insurance?

$2,500 per condition per year (and per accident).

Does OVMA Pet Insurance cover dental?

Dental covered up to $300/year; 6-month dental waiting period.

What are OVMA Pet Insurance's waiting periods?

Accidents: 2 days; illness: 14 days; orthopedic/cruciate: 6 months. 6-month waiting period on dental, cruciate ligament and IVDD conditions.

Is OVMA Pet Insurance right for your pet?

Answer a few questions and see how OVMA Pet Insurance scores against every other Canadian insurer for your pet.

Take the 2-minute quiz β†’

Compare OVMA Pet Insurance

Other Canadian insurers

Trupanion Β· Pets Plus Us Β· Petsecure Β· Sonnet Β· Furkin Β· PHI Direct Β· Fetch Β· Desjardins Β· Spot